SEJ Awards for Reporting on the Environment


SEJ's 2019 contest opened
Friday, February 8

Deadline to enter: April 1


2018 SEJ AwardsWinners

Nina Mason Pulliam Award Recipient



The Nina Mason Pulliam Award for the "best of the best" environmental reporting will award $10,000 to one entry selected from the first-place winners of SEJ's Awards for Reporting on the Environment. The prize also includes travel, registration and hotel expenses (up to $2500) for the winner, or representatives of the winning team, to attend SEJ's annual conference and be recognized at the awards presentation ceremony during SEJ's 29th Annual Conference in Fort Collins, Colorado, in October 2019.

All SEJ Awards first-place winners will be automatically entered into the Nina Mason Pulliam Award. (Read more about the Pulliam Award here.)

SEJ is pleased to bring back the Outstanding Student Journalism category, for undergraduate, graduate and high-school students. See instructions for details. 

SEJ's Awards for Reporting on the Environment continue to honor the best environmental journalism in eight categories, bringing recognition to the most important stories on the planet. Prizes of $500 for first-place winners and $250 for second-place winners in seven categories (excluding the new student category). First place in the student category receives $250, a trophy and a certificate.

The Nina Mason Pulliam Award is sponsored by The Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust, in association with SEJ and the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ).



2019 RULES

SEJ's 2019 Awards Committee

Chair: Beth Daley, InsideClimate News
Co-chair: James Bruggers, InsideClimate News
Emilia Askari, Independent Journalist
Parimal Rohit, The Log newspaper

Chris Bruggers, Awards Director,


See past Award winners:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018