SEJ Wall of Heroes

Honoring the Heroes graphic


Wall of Heroes

Journalists are heroes of democracy. We're asking you to honor your journalism heroes by supporting SEJ's work to increase and improve environmental journalism. If you have a journalism hero, tell us using #HonoringTheHeroes. Make a contribution to SEJ in their name and we'll add them to our Wall of Heroes below. And you'll both know that you're helping the reporters who tell the world's greatest stories.

Tristan Ahtone  |  Emily Atkin  |  Frances Backhouse  |  Shanna Baker  |  Neela Banerjee  |  Vanessa Barchfield  |  Seth Borenstein  |  Jane Braxton Little  |  James Bruggers  |  Brian Bull  |  Rhett A. Butler  |  Yvette Cabrera  |  Kevin Carmody  |  Ilana Cohen  |  Marla Cone  |  Sarah Cox  |  Tripp Crouse  |  Katy Daigle  |  Tony Davis  |  Julie Dermansky  |  Jim Detjen  |  Gloria Dickie  |  Dennis Dimick  |  Whitney Downard  |  Peter Dykstra  |  Juliet Eilperin  |  Dan Fagin  |  Judy Fahys  |  Peter Fairley  |  Darryl Fears  |  Christy George  |  Emily Gertz  |  Brendan Gibbons  |  Erica Gies  |  Lyndsey Gilpin  |  Gloria Gonzalez  |  Amy Goodman  |  Elizabeth Grossman  |  Sharon Guynup  |  Tom Henry  |  Erik Hoffner  |  Don Hopey  |  Steve Horn  |  Jude Isabella  |  Dahr Jamail  |  Ian James  |  Jiquanda Johnson  |  Antonia Juhasz  |  Julia Kane  |  Maya L. Kapoor  |  Cheryl Katz  |  Jane Kay  |  Melody Kemp  |  Gretchen King  |  Michael Kodas  |  Elizabeth Kolbert  |  Debra Krol  |  Randy Lee Loftis  |  Bobby Magill  |  Adrienne Mason  |  Robert McClure  |  Lydia McMullen-Laird  |  John Mecklin  |  Bethany Meissner  |  Rico Moore  |  Bernardo Motta  |  Michelle Nijhuis  |  Sharon Oosthoek  |  Lisa Palmer  |  Beth Parke  |  Laura Paskus  |  John Platt  |  Chuck Quirmbach  |  Jonathan Randal  |  Dean Rebuffoni  |  April Reese  |  Hillary Rosner  |  Sammy Roth  |  Daniel Rothberg  |  Luke Runyon  |  Heather Sackett  |  Naveena Sadasivam  |  Karen Schaefer  |  Mark Schleifstein  |  Andrew Schneider  |  Kezia Setyawan  |  Philip Shabecoff  |  Elizabeth Shogren  |  Anna V. Smith  |  Noel Smith  |  Dawn Stover  |  Meera Subramanian  |  Terri Taylor  |  Peter Thomson  |  Mc Nelly Torres  |  Brett Walton  |  Ken Ward Jr.  |  Tammy Webber  |  Tim Wheeler  |  Carolyn Whetzel  |  Dale Willman  |  Roger Witherspoon  |  Christine Woodside  |  Justin Worland  |  Marcus Yam


Click here to donate
(log-in required to receive automatic confirmation)

Donate without logging in


Thank you for supporting SEJ and environmental journalism!


*Donate today to support SEJ Members in Need*
The SEJ Members in Need Fund supports members by covering fee waivers and other costs of participating in SEJ programs, due to the COVID-19 impacts.
See SEJ's Wall of Rising Stars!



More donation options:


Donate via your Donor-Advised Fund. Learn more.



Facebook fundraiser graphicStart a Facebook Fundraiser for SEJ! When you create a fundraiser for a nonprofit, the nonprofit will receive donations directly from Facebook, Network for Good or the PayPal Giving Fund. Learn more.



PayPal logoPayPal’s Giving Fund covers all transaction costs for donations to SEJ made on this site, ensuring that 100% of each gift made is available to charity.



Amazon Smile bannerAmazonSmile is a simple, automatic way for you to support SEJ every time you shop, at no cost to you. Select the Society of Environmental Journalists as your charity of choice, and whenever you shop at, Amazon will donate a portion of the purchase price to our organization. Learn more.
How to turn on AmazonSmile in the mobile app.


Crypto for Charity logoWe now accept donations of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies!

1. Go to
2. Pick Society of Environmental Journalists from the list.
3. Donate crypto and get a tax receipt.

Donations of appreciated cryptocurrency don’t trigger capital gains taxes, and may be tax-deductible for the full value.



How your gift helps journalists:

  • Your gift in general support of SEJ Programs covers costs of ambitious plans for conferences, publications, awards and other educational programs for environmental journalists.

  • Your gift in general support of SEJ's Fund for Environmental Journalism will be used to underwrite small grants available to qualified journalists, covering costs of worthy reporting projects that are not yet complete. Winners are selected through a competitive process.

  • Your gift to SEJ's 21st Century Endowment Fund protects the future of environmental journalism.

  • Your gift to The "Lizzie" Grant supports more coverage of environmental health through the Fund for Environmental Journalism. Read more about The Lizzie Grant and the woman it honors here.


Legacy giving:

Leave a trace. Make a bequest to SEJ in your will. Learn more.

If you are ready to create a lasting legacy with SEJ, use this online resource to create your will in 20 minutes or less and include a gift. Start your will today. Have you already created a gift in your will or trust to SEJ? Fill out this form to let us know!


Topics on the Beat: